Exceptional Women in Publishing Names Federated Media Publishing’s CEO Deanna Brown the 2013 EWIP Award Winner

SAN FRANCISCO, January 21, 2013—Exceptional Women in Publishing (EWIP) is pleased to announce the 2013 recipient of the Exceptional Woman in Publishing Award is Deanna Brown, CEO of Federated Media Publishing. The 2013 EWIP award will be presented to Ms. Brown at a luncheon celebration during the 2013 Women’s Leadership Conference in San Francisco on March 6, 2013.

Deanna Brown is FMP’s chief executive officer and is responsible for overseeing all strategic business goals and day-to-day operations for the company. Prior to joining FMP in 2009, she served as President at Scripps Networks Digital, where she led the charge on bringing Scripps more fully into the digital space. In 1995 she co-founded CondeNet, the digital division of publisher CondeNast.

She has also held VP and General Manager titles at Yahoo and AOL, and founded other successful media companies including Powerful Media/Inside.com (acquired by Primedia) and Gaming Industry News (acquired by Ziff Davis). She has more than twenty-five years experience as a seasoned media executive, entrepreneur and Fortune 500 executive.

“I’m incredibly honored that the EWIP selected me from thousands of exceptional women in publishing and am proud of the recognition that this brings Federated Media in our mission to support independent publishers,” said Deanna Brown, CEO of Federated Media Publishing. “2013 is already turning into a break-out year for us as we continue to innovate and expand our programmatic media and conversational marketing solutions to better enable publishers and advertisers to be successful.”

Each year EWIP selects an accomplished woman to receive the Exceptional Woman in Publishing Award. Honorees are chosen based on achieved prominence in career, extraordinary contributions to publishing, and demonstrated success and leadership in exceptional ways.

“Deanna has met and exceeded the definition of an exceptional woman in publishing. She is a leader and mentor who has shined in both the print and digital sides of publishing,” says, EWIP President Máire Walsh. Past honorees of the EWIP Award include Gloria Steinem, co-founder of Ms. Magazine, Laurel Touby, founder of mediabistro.com, Marie Rodale, CEO & Chairman of Rodale, Inc and Michela O’Connor Abrams, President Dwell Media.

Related Content